Travel: Washington D.C

Washington, D.C, “the nation’s capital”, “the district”, or simply D.C., is know for being the capital of the United States and therefore one of the most important political cities in the world. I grew up in and around D.C. in an area that locals call the DMV {D.C., Maryland, and Virginia not Department of Motor Vehicles LOL}. As a native I simply think of this important and historic city as my cultural playground.

 

Places to stay: When I have to book a hotel in the city I love to stay at the W Hotel because it is literally right across the street from the White House. It is on the more expensive side but the great thing about D.C is that the city offers a lot of options for places to stay at many different prices.

IMG_6358

Where to eat: A popular tourist destination to eat in D.C is Ben’s Chill Bowl. It is a city icon, with good food. I personally do not eat here very often; the lines are too long for me. My personal favorite Georgia Browns {I had my 21st birthday dinner there}. It is in a less congested part of downtown and they have an amazing menu.

 

Things to do: Most people come to D.C. to explore The White House, however there are other things to do in the city as well.

IMG_6373

            Monuments: My favorite was to view the monuments is by boat. Spirit Of Washington is a great family friendly way to see the city. They hit many of the important sites that a tourist would want to see. You can also walk along the National Mall to see the monuments and the best time to do this is at night.  However my ultimate favorite way to see the city is by kayak. I rent my kayaks from a company called Boating in DC

SAM_0093

Museums: I love the National Museum of Natural History. The best part to me is the dinosaur section. I also really enjoy the interactive nature of the museum. National Portrait Gallery is also another great option {I’m a history buff if you couldn’t tell}. The best part about the Museums in D.C is that most of them are free.

IMG_6379

            Shopping: There are shops all throughout D.C. but my favorite place to shop is Georgetown. This historic neighborhood has just about every shop you can think of. Parking can sometimes be a nightmare {which is nothing new in this city LOL}, however there are parking garages and there is also a free bus.

One thought on “Travel: Washington D.C

Leave a comment